Updated October 13, 2026 ยท By Alex Mercer
USB-C Car Chargers: 4 Picks Compared, From Phones to Laptops




USB-C Car Chargers: 4 Picks Compared, From Phones to Laptops
The right USB-C car charger depends on what you plug in. For one or two phones, the Anker 40W 2-Port is enough and costs about $17. For a laptop, the Anker 167.5W 3-Port puts 100W on one port. If loose cables bother you, the Anker 75W has a retractable USB-C cable built in.
The Short Version
The Anker 40W 2-Port Car Charger has two USB-C ports and is tied for the highest owner rating here (4.8 from about 9,900 ratings). The Anker 167.5W 3-Port is the pick for a laptop plus phones: 100W, 45W and 22.5W ports. The Anker 75W with Retractable Cable pairs a 45W pull-out USB-C cable with a 30W port. The LISEN 84W 4-in-1 has two retractable cables and two more ports for a car full of passengers. The picks below are based on manufacturer specs, current Amazon prices and what owners report in their reviews, not on our own testing.
Our Top Picks
| Product | Best for | Ports | Rating | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anker 40W 2-Port Car Charger | One or two phones | 2 USB-C, 40W total | 4.8/5 โ โ โ โ ยฝ | $16.88 |
| Anker 167.5W 3-Port Car Charger | Laptops | USB-C 100W and 45W, USB-A 22.5W | 4.8/5 โ โ โ โ ยฝ | $33.99 |
| Anker 75W Retractable Car Charger | No loose cables | Built-in USB-C 45W, USB-C 30W | 4.6/5 โ โ โ โ ยฝ | $22.49 |
| LISEN 84W 4-in-1 Car Charger | A full car | 2 retractable cables, 2 ports | 4.5/5 โ โ โ โ ยฝ | $16.99 |
How Many Watts You Need
- iPhones: A 20W port covers fast charging on the iPhone Air, iPhone 17e and older models; Apple lists 40W or more for the fastest speed on the iPhone 17, 17 Pro and 17 Pro Max. For those, use the Anker 167.5W (45W or 100W port) or the Anker 75W (45W cable). Apple lists a 60W-capable adapter for the fastest speed on the iPhone 18 Pro and 18 Pro Max. The Anker 167.5W's 100W port is the only candidate here, but Anker's listing does not state the adjustable-voltage support (AVS) that speed uses, so expect about 45W from it or from the Anker 75W cable, and less from the Anker 40W and the LISEN.
- Samsung Galaxy Ultra: the S24 and S25 Ultra charge fastest at 45W and the S26 Ultra at up to 60W, and all three need PPS. Anker markets the 167.5W charger's 45W port for Samsung fast charging, though its listing does not state PPS; it is the closest option here, used with a 5A USB-C cable. No pick here reaches the S26 Ultra's 60W.
- Tablets: an iPad or Android tablet is comfortable on 30W to 45W.
- Laptops: a USB-C laptop usually wants 45W to 100W. Anker says its 100W port takes a 16-inch MacBook Pro from 0 to 50% in 47 minutes.
Which Charger for Which Device
| Device | What the maker says | Pick from this list |
|---|---|---|
| iPhone 12 to 16, Air, 17e | A 20W port covers fast charging | Any pick |
| iPhone 17, 17 Pro, 17 Pro Max | Fastest with a 40W or higher adapter (Apple) | Anker 167.5W or Anker 75W cable |
| iPhone 18 Pro, 18 Pro Max | Fastest with a 60W-capable adapter (Apple) | Anker 167.5W 100W port is closest; full speed not stated |
| Samsung Galaxy S24 to S26 Ultra | Fastest at 45W (S26 Ultra up to 60W) with PPS (Samsung) | Anker 167.5W 45W port with a 5A cable is closest; none reaches 60W |
| iPad | Ships with or recommends a 20W USB-C adapter (Apple) | Anker 40W or Anker 75W |
| 13-inch MacBook Air | Ships with a 30W or 35W adapter, 70W optional (Apple) | Anker 167.5W, or Anker 75W cable at 45W |
| 14-inch or 16-inch MacBook Pro | Ships with a 70W to 140W adapter (Apple) | Anker 167.5W (100W port charges it, more slowly than the wall adapter) |
Total Watts vs Watts per Port
The big number on the box is the total across every port, not what one port gives. For the four picks here, from the makers' listings:
- Anker 40W: two USB-C ports at up to 20W each, 40W total, both at full speed together; a phone charger, slower than the others for an iPhone 17.
- Anker 167.5W: 100W USB-C, 45W USB-C and 22.5W USB-A.
- Anker 75W: 45W on the retractable USB-C cable and 30W on the USB-C port.
- LISEN 84W: a 45W PD USB-C port and a 12W USB-A port plus the two retractable cables. LISEN notes the 45W figure needs a 24V supply (trucks); in a normal 12V car that port peaks at 36W.
When several devices charge at once, many chargers share power between ports, so check the per-port figure for the device you care about most. A charger listed only by total watts, with no per-port split, makes that harder to judge.
PD, QC and PPS in One Paragraph
USB Power Delivery (PD) is the standard most phones, tablets and laptops use over USB-C. Quick Charge (QC) is Qualcomm's older system, mostly on USB-A ports. PPS is part of PD that recent Samsung phones need for their fastest speed. A USB-C port with PD covers nearly everything; PPS matters only if you want a Samsung at full speed.
Detailed Picks
1. Anker 40W 2-Port Car Charger: Best for Phones
A compact two-port USB-C charger, up to 20W on each port and 40W total, sold by Anker with an 18-month warranty.
What owners say: In Amazon's review summary owners praise the quality and the fast charging, with one saying it takes a Pixel 8 Pro from 50 to 100% on a 30-minute commute, and say both USB-C ports work well and fit securely. Durability is mixed: some units broke after a few months.
Who it's for: Drivers charging one or two phones who want the simplest, highest-rated option.
Skip it if: you need to charge a laptop, want the fastest speed for an iPhone 17, or still use a USB-A cable.
2. Anker 167.5W 3-Port Car Charger: Best for Laptops
Anker lists a 100W USB-C port, a 45W USB-C port and a 22.5W USB-A port, and includes a USB-C to USB-C cable.
What owners say: Owners say it fast charges three devices at once with real 100W delivery, call it worth the money and describe a robust build. Heat is mixed: some say it gets warm after long use.
Who it's for: Road warriors charging a laptop and phones together.
Skip it if: you only charge phones; the 40W Anker costs half as much.
3. Anker 75W Retractable Car Charger: Best for No Loose Cables
A built-in retractable USB-C cable (45W, about 29.5 inches) plus a separate 30W USB-C port, 75W total.
What owners say: Owners describe fast, reliable charging and like the retractable cable for keeping the car tidy, along with the extra 30W port and the compact size. Of 430 reviews that mention charging performance, 407 are positive.
Who it's for: Drivers tired of cables tangled around the shifter.
Skip it if: your phone uses a Lightning cable, or you want more than two devices charging.
4. LISEN 84W 4-in-1 Car Charger: Best for a Full Car
Two retractable cables (USB-C and Lightning, up to 31.5 inches) and two ports: a PD USB-C port rated 45W on 24V trucks and 36W in a normal 12V car, and a 12W USB-A port. LISEN notes it does not support CarPlay or data.
What owners say: Owners say it charges fast and is well worth the money, and like the retractable cords and the mix of ports. Durability is mixed, and so is the retracting mechanism: some say it stopped retracting after a week.
Who it's for: Families and rideshare drivers who need to charge several phones, including older iPhones.
Skip it if: you want the most durable option; the retractors are the weak point in reviews. The current buy box is a third-party seller.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a car charger charge a laptop?
Yes, if the port supplies enough power for it and the laptop charges over USB-C. Most need 45W to 100W from one port, so check the per-port figure, not the total.
Does a car charger drain the car battery?
Many 12V sockets switch off with the ignition. If yours stays on, a charger with nothing plugged in draws very little, but unplug it before leaving the car for days.
How did we choose these chargers?
From manufacturer specs, Amazon prices and owner review summaries, not our own testing. Our review process explains how we compare products. For music and calls through the car radio as well as charging, see our Bluetooth FM transmitter guide.
The Verdict
For phones, the Anker 40W 2-Port is the simple, best-rated choice. Add a laptop and the Anker 167.5W is worth the extra cost for its 100W port. Pick the Anker 75W or the LISEN if retractable cables matter.
Products Mentioned

USB-C 100W, USB-C 45W and USB-A 22.5W; cable included.

Built-in 45W retractable USB-C cable plus a 30W USB-C port.

Retractable USB-C and Lightning cables plus two ports; PD USB-C 36W in 12V cars, 45W on 24V.



